IEEE - CAS Bangalore Chapter, India     CAS Chapter - Region 10
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers - Circuits and Systems Society
Goals: To conduct seminars, workshops, and other events pertaining to all aspects of electronic circuits and systems

System Level Design of Low Power Wireless Sensor Networks for Biomedical Applications - September 2007

Dr.Dinesh Bhatia

Dinesh Bhatia is on the faculty of electrical engineering department at The University of Texas at Dallas. He directs research activities within the Embedded and Adaptive Computing group and is also a member of Center for Integrated Circuits and Systems at the University of Texas at Dallas. He received MS and a Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Texas at Dallas. His research interests include all aspects of reconfigurable and adaptive computing, architecture and CAD for field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), physical design automation of VLSI Systems, biomedical electronics and systems, medical devices, natural energy scavenging and, applications of wireless sensor networks. His recent work on wireless sensor networks operating on scavenged energy is gaining importance in health care applications involving tele-medicine and remote health monitoring as well as in problems related to monitoring and alleviation of wood logging in forests.
He has extensive experience in building large scale embedded and reconfigurable systems. Some of these activities include principal designer and investigator for RACE and NEBULA systems for Wright Laboratories of USAF, principal investigator for DARPA funded REACT program, Co-PI on AFRL funded SPARCs program and several more. He has published extensively in leading journals and conferences and continues to serve on program committees of several conferences. He is a senior member of IEEE, Computer Society, Circuits and Systems Society, Eta Kappa Nu, and recently served on the editorial board of IEEE Transactions on COMPUTERs. He is IEEE Circuits and Systems society’s distinguished lecturer for 2007.